Faculty of Science celebrates top students and professors at its Honours and Awards Evening

photo of Prof. Fahim Quadir and Faculty of Science graduate students

Graduate student award winners from the Faculty of Science with Professor Fahim Quadir, associate dean students, Faculty of Graduate Studies

York University’s Faculty of Science hosted its annual Honours and Awards evening, Nov. 23, recognizing the achievements of top students and professors in the Faculty.

Opening the event, Dean Ray Jayawardhana commended the outstanding accomplishments of the honorees. “This evening we are reminded, yet again, of the truly remarkable community that is York Science,” he said. “We are inspired by the excellence of our students and the professors that teach and guide them.”

This year more than 400 students, parents and faculty members were treated to keynote speaker, York Science alumnus Dan Riskin (MSc ’00). Riskin is an author, the co-host of Daily Planet, and an evolutionary biologist. He spoke with passion about his career as a scientist and broadcaster.

The awards ceremony was followed by a reception where students and parents had the opportunity to meet Riskin, and mingle with their professors and senior University administrators.

Graduate Student Awards

  • Alexandra Terrana - NSERC Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship
  • Yana Boeva, Suharto Chakma and Soma Tripathi - Ontario Trillium Scholarship
  • Bretton Fosbrook - SSHRC Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship
  • Ernest Bimm, Lisa Cockburn, and Angela Cope - SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship